Thinking
Leave a Comment

Life goal achieved: making housemates watch The Butterfly Effect

I am going to count yesterday as a true achievement in my life in my long endurance of patience. About once a week, sometimes more, one of my housemates or I propose the idea of watching a movie. This is easier said than done. Such a process takes approximately two hours of suggestions and trailer watching until we come to the conclusive decision to go to bed because we cannot agree on a film. Every single time this occasion has occurred, I have suggested the same film (The Butterfly Effect) and it has gotten to the point now that I do not even get the slightest acknowledgement. Not even a shake of the head. It had become established that when I say that film, and I do not even expect an answer anymore. I say it out of habit and routine now more than anything else.

But yesterday, the unexpected happened. They said yes. I tried to maintain calm and collected but my palms got sweaty I was that excited. I think it was the nonchalant-ness in my voice that did it, since it had gotten to the point where I didn’t try to push it too much. I could learn a life lesson from this. I won’t lie, I was expecting bigger and better reactions once the credits started to roll. Every time I watch it, I am just as mind-fucked as I was the first time I saw it. They were not as thrilled.

I am not sure why, one, I needed my housemates to see this film so much, and, two, why this was such an important life event that I felt the need to document it. I just really like The Butterfly Effect. So here’s to obsessively and compulsively feeling the need to force other people to do what you want.

Leave a comment